Anybody who paid attention to the Legislature in the last few years is well aware of the "Dirty Dozen" tax increases passed by the Democrat majority in the state House and Senate and signed into law by failed one-term Governor Bill Ritter. Today Compass Colorado attempts to modify that phrase slightly, putting the heat on the politicians who pushed those job-killing taxes and a host of other bad economic ideas.

From Prop 103 to FASTER the totality of tax increases supported by these politicians adds up to billions of dollars in additional taxes and fees Coloradans cannot afford to pay in this economy.

As Dirty Dozen member state Senator John Morse has said "taking tax dollars out of the private economy slows the private economy." Since most Coloradans work in the "private economy" that matters quite a bit to them. In a time of great economic suffering, slowing the economy should be the last thing politicians want to do.

Compass Colorado President Tyler Q. Houlton announced the ignominious dozen today, along with a detailed summary of their voting record for all to marvel at just how many votes they cast that harm the economy.

As Houlton said in his press release:  

"These Dirty Dozen Job Killers have done significant damage to Colorado's economy. By supporting hundreds of millions, and sometimes billions, of dollars in new taxes, these state legislators have stifled economic recovery and job creation.

Every one of these state legislators has voted for a laundry list of bad economic policies. In these tough economic times, liberal members of the General Assembly need to be held accountable for their support of job-killing legislation."

While these politicians represent a vast and diverse geography, their economic philosophies occupy a distinctly left wing position.

Without further ado, the new dirty dozen:

1. State Representative Daniel Kagan (D-Denver)

2. State Representative Andy Kerr (D-Lakewood)

3. State Representative Jeanne Labuda (D-Denver)

4. State Representative Joe Miklosi (D-Denver)

5. State Representative Sal Pace (D-Urination)

6. Former State Representative (& HD33 candidate) Dianne Primavera (D-Broomfield)

7. State Representative Max "Kids Are Like Maggots" Tyler (D-Lakewood)

8. State Senator Morgan Carroll (D-Aurora)

9. State Senator Mary Hodge (D-Brighton)

10. State Senator Evie Hudak (D-Westminster)

11. State Senator John "Per Diem" Morse (D-Colorado Springs)

12. State Senator Linda Newell (D-Littleton)