There’s a directional shift in the state House with new Republican leadership for the 24-member caucus.

Rep. Patrick Neville of Castle Rock stepped down from the minority leader position he’s served in since 2017. 

Neville was replaced in Monday leadership elections by Rep. Hugh McKean of Loveland, who was just reelected for a third term.

Rep. Tim Geitner of Falcon was elected assistant minority leader, Rep. Rod Pelton of Cheyenne Wells won reelection as the party whip and Rep. Janice Rich of Grand Junction was reelected as caucus chair.

The Republican state Senate leadership team was also reelected by their caucus: Sen. Chris Holbert of Parker as minority leader; Sen. John Cooke of Greeley as assistant minority leader; Sen. Paul Lundeen of Monument as minority whip; and, Sen. Jim Smallwood of Parker replaced term-limited Vicki Marble to serve as minority caucus chair.

In the state House, McKean says he will promote the traditional Reagan Republican values of small government, individual rights, fiscal restraint and support of the free market system.

McKean also signaled his determination to keep Republican officials united when the new term begins in January with the same number of Republicans as this year. 

Republicans broke even in the election, winning a Pueblo seat from Democrat Bri Buentello, but losing a Republican seat in Littleton held by Richard Champion.

Senate Democrats picked up one open seat with Chris Kolker’s win over Republican Suzanne Staiert in Centennial. 

Democrats have convinced the media this stand-off was a decisive victory for them, and yet look at what it cost them just to almost, nearly maintain the status quo of a Democrat monopoly on Colorado’s government.